When history meets today
The Rue Saint-Honore, witness of the rich history of Paris
The Rue Saint-Honore is one of the largest and richest streets of Paris. It is named after the former presence of two gates, one from the walls of Philippe Auguste, the other built under Louis XIII and demolished in 1733.
The Hotel de Noailles and the Marquis La Fayette
Born in 1924, the Hotel Royal Saint-Honoré is located on the site of the former Hotel de Noailles, which extended south to the Rue de Rivoli and west to the convent of the Feuillants. In 1774, the young Marquis de La Fayette, who was one of the most eligible bachelors in France, married Marie Adrienne Françoise de Noailles and moved to the Hôtel de Noailles. They had four children, a son and three daughters. From this marriage, born a true love story, which gives today at the Royal Saint-Honore an imprint of the most romantic spirit of Paris.